Iowa LTAP Work Zone Sign Package Program

The Iowa LTAP Work Zone Sign Package Program

The goal of this Iowa DOT funded program is to provide an avenue for smaller cities, less than 10,000 population, to be able to obtain a basic work zone sign package that is in compliance with the 2009 MUTCD and to make their work zones safer for operations personnel and motorist. It is currently proposed that the materials to be included in the package will be the following:

  • One Lane Road Ahead Signs
  • Road Work Ahead Signs
  • Be Prepared to Stop Signs
  • Type III Barricades
  • 28” Traffic Cones
  • Class 2 Safety Vests
  • Sign Stands
  • 42 inch Channelizers

Each of these will be of the correct type and size for lower speed city street work.  All of the devices will include high intensity retro-reflective sheeting suitable for nighttime use.

It is expected that approximately 10 cities will be chosen to receive a work zone sign package based on the content of the application submitted by the city and reviewed by the advisory committee.

The 10 winning cities for the 2020 program were announced and they are:

  1. Earlville
  2. Cascade
  3. Wilton
  4. Shelby
  5. Correctionville
  6. Adel
  7. Iowa Falls Water
  8. Griswold
  9. Readlyn
  10. Charter Oak

Look for the announcement coming in the fall of 2020 for next year’s program!